Could Someone Give me Advice for Optimizing Performance on Ampere Altra Systems?

Hello there,

I am new to working with Ampere Altra systems and have been exploring their potential for high performance computing workloads. The architecture is impressive; and I am excited to fully utilize its capabilities.

My primary focus is on optimizing performance for a variety of applications; including data analytics; machine learning; and cloud native services. I have read through some of the official documentation and have experimented with a few configurations; but I am interested in hearing from those who have more hands-on experience with these systems.

Are there any particular compiler flags or settings that you have found to significantly boost performance on Altra systems? :thinking: I have been using GCC primarily; but I am open to other compilers if they offer better results.

Given the high core count of Ampere Altra processors; what are the best practices for managing memory and minimizing latency? Any tips on NUMA configurations or other memory related optimizations would be appreciated.

How do these systems perform with virtualized environments or containerized workloads? Are there specific settings or tools that can help optimize performance in these contexts? :thinking:

If you are using Altra systems for specialized workloads; such as AI/ML; HPC; or databases; what specific tuning or configurations have you found to be effective? :thinking:

Also, I have gone through this post; https://community.amperecomputing.com/t/help-needed-ampere-128-core-vs-ampere-96-core-jeff-geerling-performance-testing-golang/ which definitely helped me out a lot.

I am also interested in any benchmarks or case studies that might provide insights into maximizing performance.

Thank you in advance for your help and assistance. :innocent:

2 Likes

You can take a look at this case study

Another case study from Netflix with the same problem (cache thrashing) but on Intel CPUs.